In the future, all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think that the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is predicted that within a few years from now on, there will be no drivers inside cars or buses to drive them. Although there is a demerit, this essay will argue that the merits are stronger because such vehicles have the potential to ensure the safety of travellers. To begin with, many scientists believe that in the upcoming years, due to technological evolution, people will start using autonomous vehicles and thanks to Artificial Intelligence, there will be no need for anyone to control these vehicles manually. The main positive thing about this aspect is, a large number of accidents which occur due to human errors can be avoided. For example, if the driver of a car is not attentive while driving, the chances that he may hit another vehicle on road are high. Thus, I believe that these kinds of automobiles are essential to save human lives. However, the negative thing about not having a person to drive a bus or truck is, it will make millions of professional drivers jobless. For instance, a report by the ministry of labour indicates that there are around 5 million people who work as drivers to make living. It is evident that once transportation becomes autonomous, these people will be laid off from their current employment. As a result, the unemployment numbers may increase. So, this is the main demerit of such means of transportation. To conclude, despite the downsides, I believe that the advantages of having a car or bus that moves automatically without human intervention are far more beneficial because deaths due to accidents can be reduced.