Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

These days, it has been observed that the number of individuals who replace their medications has significantly increased. There are both pros and cons to this trend. Personally, I think it is a negative development. In this essay, I will discuss both advantages and drawbacks, and provide reasons to support my view on this contentious issue. Today, the number of patients who change their treatment procedures is increasing at an unprecedented rate. For example, some people prefer to do yoga instead of consuming medicines for their mental health, which can be healthier. Another example can be herbal medicine, which is getting popular these days. The reason why some individuals are drawn to these medicines is that there are no chemicals in them; thus, they do not have side effects. Therefore, some people turn to such drugs because they suppose it is better than the previous way of treatment. However, although there are various drugs available, most of them suffer from a lack of scientific confirmation. In fact, there is no scientific evidence to prove them. Accordingly, they are not reliable and we should not rely on them. In some cases, not only are they not useful, but also they may be detrimental to our health. Consequently, the best way to cure is that we should trust doctors because they are professional and more reliable than anything. To conclude, nowadays, some people like to try other medicines instead of drugs that are prescribed by their doctors. In my opinion, this is a negative trend and affects people’s health negatively.