Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case ? Do you think is a positive or negative development?

These days,a wide range of children are exposed to technology for multiple hours daily, such as smartphones. While many people see this as a positive development, this essay is strongly against this approach. I will be stating the reasons for this development and explaining why it is negative. From my perspective,The most significant reason for this is the lack of parental awareness about smartphone usage for a long time. This happens because of the normalization campaigns lead by the media. In other words no clear representation in movies,tv shows and major talk shows of how this development may be damaging. To solve this problem governmental lectures should be given to parents. Therefore, parents don't realize that leaving their kids on phones for a long time causes problems. One drawback is toxic communities online.To illustrate, children may face bullying, harassment, blackmailing and drug selling. In short, child abusers use video games as a portal for their illegal acts. This is due to it being much harder for the authorities to look for criminals when they hide their identities using VPN. As a consequence, this could be reflected in a child's acts towards his/her parents and it would cause numerous social and mental problems. Moreover, it can hardly be denied that spending more than four hours on smartphones will lead to medical issues. For instance, obesity, spinal problems and even brain tumours. In other words, spending hours allocated for sports on smartphones on daily bases may lead to obesity, unsuitable seating positions will probably lead to spinal problems and exposing the naked eye to screens might cause brain tumours. All in all, reiterate the overuse of these modern portable electronics, is a bad development,especially among youngsters due to its probable medical and social issues. Awareness should be increased and more representation should be done in the media regarding this topic.