Some think that young people should be free to choose any career they like, while others say that they should think more realisticallyabout their future. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people are of the opinion that youth should be open to making decisions on what they want to become without taking anything into account whereas others, including me, opine that individuals should consider in a realistic manner whether or not they will have a future while selecting their career path. Firstly, some suggest people not succumb to external pressure and opt for a job that passionates them because it will help them to develop more interest in their domain and consequently, becoming an expert in it will be a certainty. To illustrate, if an individual who is passionate about football decides to become a professional player despite opposition from family and friends, the chances that he or she achieves success are high. This is the reason why it is important to have a career that fascinates us even if it sounds unusual and is not considered a popular choice. However, others, including me believe that passion and ambitions should match reality. For instance, if a person from Canada aims to become a cricketer in his country, he or she is bound to fail as this game has no popularity among Canadians and as a result, the person in question could also lose all the possibilities to earn a decent income as a consequence. Hence, a realistic career is essential to earn a good income. To conclude, although giving preference to the career option that one likes is appreciated, I assert that opting for an employment option that corresponds to reality is the best thing to do.