Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on protection of wild animals, and that this money could be better spent on human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the economic prosperity that humans have enjoyed in recent history has come at the expense of wildlife. Because of this, the conversation of wild animals has become a topic of public interest. However, some people argue that time and funding allocated to this well-intentioned enterprise are verging on excess and that these resources should be diverted to projects that directly benefit human population. While this thinking is somewhat justifiable, I believe that it is in the interests of humankind to put more effort into protecting wild animals. It is understandable why some people think that too much time and money are currently being spent on wildlife conversation. Advocates may argue that there are more pressing issues that need addressing than protecting wild animals. For example, nations, where unemployment and poverty are rife, are in dire need of funding to remedy such problems and raise living standards. When compared to these urgent needs, combatting the extinction of some wild animals does seem like an unworthy cause. However, notwithstanding the fact that there are more crucial areas for countries to pay attention to, I would contend that it would be imprudent to ignore the unshaken importance of protecting wild animals. In fact, humans have an inextricable relationship with wildlife, which means that the extinction of a wild animal could seriously threaten the survival of mankind. The African rhino is a telling example. Their grazing helps sustain the grasslands on which countless other species depend, and thus maintains the ecological balance. Therefore, the decline in rhino population could spell trouble for African savannas and ultimately the local communities. This is a testament to how spending on the protection of wild animals is also synonymous with safeguarding the existence of humans. In conclusion, while time and budget are misspent on saving wild animals, I am convinced that it is of great importance to the survival of human beings.