Some people say history is one of the most important school subject. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Subjects taught in school influence the kids to a great extent and hence, training them with appropriate matter is really important for their growth, as well as that of society. Children and parents have their likes and dislikes about the topics and there are few who insist on science and technology while others prefer subjects like history. In my opinion, considering the current trend, science and technology has the upper hand compared to history. Science and technology lead the path forward for future generations. If there is a subject that mankind can be proud of, its technology and the backbone of technology is science. Additionally, the current generation is tied up to technology more than ever. For instance, our daily activities, travel, health, finance, and entertainment are all tagged to technology. Therefore, it is necessary to train children about these topics in school and in addition, ensure participation in science exhibitions to groom cognizance among students. On the other hand, history is predominantly the study of the lifestyle and culture of our older generations. Moreover, it narrates the life stories of famous people, the challenges they faced and their path to glory. History holds the key to many problems that we face today. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, researchers referred to the Spanish Flu of 1921 and advised citizens to stay isolated to limit the spread. Hence, the study of history provides students with the opportunity to understand the experiences of our past generation and learn from them. To recapitulate, understanding history and technology is equally important for the next generation. However considering the professional requirement, our society needs more engineers, doctors, nurses and technicians and science lays the foundation for each of these professions. To conclude, although an understanding of history is required, in-depth training in science subjects for kids will prove beneficial to society.