Some think secondary and high school students should be allowed to choose academic courses leading to university or practical courses leading to careers such as carpenters. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that secondary and high school studies should be according to the courses which one wants to take in the university and lead him to a specific occupation.I totally disagree with this statement as I believe that adolescents tend to make their decision emotionally and moreover, It can certainly create a imbalance in nation's job market. To start with, students in their high or secondary school are innocents and usually make their decisions without knowing potential effects on their future.To elaborate it, youngsters easily get influenced from other people without knowing their backgrounds. For instance, a 16 years old kid may be enticed to become a fighter pilot but certainly do not know the amount of mental and physical pressure to become one. As a result, he may drop the idea of becoming a fighter pilot down the line and then his particular education would be more like a wastage of time. Furthermore, If everbody would be choosing particular subject in their high or secondary education then there may be problems to fullfill job market needs of any nation.To illustrate further, if young adults allowed to choose only one area in their early studies, they would never be exposed to other areas which may turn to be interesting later at their age. Hence, it would leave some job postings to be unfulfilled and It would create a imbalance in the job market. In conclusion, It would be more better if youngsters are given the chance to study variety of areas in their intial studies as they would be having more career options. Countries can also be benefitted as they would be having enough worker for each and every occupation to fulfill.