Some people say that the government should stop TV and Newspaper from showing crimes because media coverage of violent crimes is frightening people and encouraging criminals. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

With the advancement of technology, we now have access to a variety of tools such as television, the internet, magazines, and newspapers to keep us up to date on global events. And having the breach scenes broadcast is a controversial topic as the violence can be frightening to viewers or encourage people to commit crimes. I'm inclined to agree with the mentioned opinion, but there is another perspective. I will discuss both opinions in the essay with suitable examples. On the one hand, human psychology is vulnerable to the brutality shown in programs. To begin with, the violence often frightens the viewers and affects their peace of mind. For example, the elderly feel depressed and scared after watching an episode of a story containing murder and robbery. Furthermore, if the criminal had read the detailed description in the newspaper, they would have had the idea to commit a crime against the local authorities. Therefore, the government should impose a restriction on broadcasting such brutal acts. On the other hand, some people believe that a clear, informative message is delivered to the young generation through these criminal reports. The heinous consequences of wrongdoing remind them of the critical importance of not engaging in any offense, such as drug or alcohol abuse. Moreover, many cases broadcast on TV have been explained in crime coverage, which allows viewers to know more about the criminal. Through this, they can protect themselves as well as their loved ones. In conclusion, the violence presented through any mass media has both a positive and negative influence on society. From my point of view, the prohibition on such media coverage does not serve the purpose, though some filters can be applied to make it more effective for people absorbing the information.