To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

A Country should meet the increasing need for food to support a raising population by making use of delicious bugs as a meal source but some people believe that pests are not beneficial and it has a detrimental effect on the environment. In my opinion, I believe that certain flies can be nutritional and they can also cause serious illness in humans. On one hand, the use of certain bugs such as Beetles, dragonflies, and Giant ants as food supplements as being in existence for a very long time. There are also seasonal flies that migrate during the rainy period in the southern part of Nigeria and they commonly use for making a type of food delicacy. These insects provide most of our balance diet. In 2020, the World Health Organization projected that world Hunger will rise by 20 per cent in the next 10 years and this was attributed to reducing land surface for farming. They also proposed that the world needs to diversify its source of food to curb impending hunger. Furthermore, some developed nations have started pest farming and which also includes harvesting their products. Bees and honey are major examples of bug farming. On the other hand, feeding on insects can be hazardous to the well-being of a population. Some of the bugs are carriers of deadly viruses. In addition, some of the bugs are also effective for plant pollination that some plant requires. In 2019 during the rainy season, I visited a friend in the southern part of Nigeria. We went to a restaurant that serves a soup called “OHA” made of locust flies. And we both decided to try it out but a few minutes into it he developed a life-threatening anaphylactic reaction. Apparently, it was later discovered that the insect contains a chemical that few people react to it. In conclusion, the rising importance of food to support the growing population can gain from delicious insects though some people believe that it is unhealthy. Feeding on pests has its merit and demerit