In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In Britain, it is becoming increasingly common for older people to live in assisted living communities for seniors where they can get better care. This usually raises the question if the burden of paying for these services should be on the family or the government. I strongly believe that the government should pay for elderly care due to several reasons which will be listed in this essay. There are various reasons why the government of the UK should pay for elderly care, especially senior assisted living services. At first, senior citizens are eligible for receiving social security and medicare services in the UK which means they are entitled to these benefits from the government. Secondly, it is important to understand that the additional expense for the assisted care of senior citizens is marginal as compared to the extra care they are provided which also aids their physical and mental health. For example, a recent survey depicted that seniors living in a shared community with caretakers faced less medical emergencies due to improved overall health resulting from extra care, support, assistance, exercise routines, companionship, and timely consumption of medicines. At last, one should think that a part of the elderly community is constituted of veterans and retired professionals from the public sector who have dedicatedly served their country. On the other hand, the family should also create a contingency plan to be able to support their elderly parents in the event of an emergency. Adequate coverage of medical insurance should be ensured by the family. Relying completely on a nation's social security system and government funding is not advisable due to instability in the economy and dynamic geopolitical situations across the globe. In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is the duty of the government of the UK to pay for the expenses associated with senior home facilities and elderly care. It is equally important for the family to plan ahead with family coverage medical insurance packages and be prepared for emergency situations.