As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Does the advantage of this for individuals outweigh the disadvantage for the environment?

In the modern era, as many nations are advancing people are buying and using vehicles more frequently. To my knowledge, this trend has got a deteriorating impact on mother nature more than self convenience, a few pros and cons related to this are elaborated on in the following paragraphs. To begin with, talking about uses of purchasing the car at the personal level, undoubtedly it has added towards personal convenience, owing to the fact that one can use it regardless of the time and place. Adding more, this trend has certainly helped people to uplift their living standards because society thinks that only a well-off individual can have personal machinery. On the other hand, the bad effects it has on the environment, first and foremost, many trees have been cut down, in order to construct roads, which has disrupted the ecosystem greatly. To illustrate, according to a survey report by WHO 17 per cent of the green area has been removed in the last two decades just for the sake of highway expansions. Secondly, mankind is suffering from many ailments that are caused by the pollutants emitted by the vehicles such as asthma, lung diseases and so on. Lastly, the earth is facing a global warming crisis that is a causative factor for many environmental changes. For example, a few parts of the world are facing the worst droughts while others are facing heavy rainfalls owing to global warming that is mainly caused by pollution and cars also contribute towards it. To conclude, there is no harm in buying and driving cars as far as they are serving humans but when it starts impacting the surrounding that is essential for living a healthy life then we need to give deep thought to the use of machinery.