More and more people no longer read newspaper or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Recently, there is a rising trend of an increasing number of the audience abandoning traditional media and instead turning to the Internet to receive news. I consider it greatly beneficial, as it allows the public to receive information in a cost-efficient and convenient way. First of all, trying to understand what is happening around the world online costs nothing but a smart device that can connect to the Internet. Unlike traditional media which generally require a subscription to a newspaper or an expensive television purchase, a smart device such as a smartphone can be purchased for a price as low as fifty dollars, and a used yet functioning one is even cheaper. This allows readers with limited income to access information economically, without attempting to find the best deal for a TV within their budgets. Additionally, Internet users can take advantage of the portability of smart devices, reading news from everywhere. The new generation of electronic devices, for instance, electronic readers and iPads, are designed to be lightweight and small in size, so that users can easily carry them around in their pockets conveniently. While TV audiences have to get back home and turn on the TV to watch their favourite channels and newspaper subscribers have to receive today's version from USPS, people with a smart device can access news not only in the office but also everywhere with a network connection. Admittedly, sometimes information from the Internet can be artificially made and even misleading, considering the fact that everyone with access to the new media is qualified to be a content creator. However, the benefits presented by online news still outweignoutweigh any potential drawbacks, and I believe the majority of the audience can utilize their critical thinking to determine whether the news is fake or authentic. In conclusion, messages from the Internet not only offer the audience a cost-efficient way to obtain messages but also allow them to read a statement from everywhere, which is the key to acquiring knowledge without delay. I believe the Internet, in the long run, will take over traditional media to help individuals understand what is going on in a more efficient and effective way method, therefore, enhancing decision-making ability for everyone.