Since the turn of the millennium, an increasing number of people have switched from reading traditional books to electronic media. What has caused this significant change and what are the results for children and adults?

It can be easily observed that paper books are being replaced with electronic devices. This phenomenon started ever since the prices of electronic devices have gotten lower now than in the past. As a result, it seemingly has significant benefits for the public. To begin with, electronic devices used to be too expensive for ordinary students or people to easily afford. However, due to technological advances, the public can buy it at a reasonable price. For example, electronic manufacturers such as Samsung and Apple produce tablet PCs not only for experts but also novices. Therefore, customers that consist of many age groups can afford it, regardless of occupation. In fact, there are many college students who use a tablet PC instead of paper books. This trend has brought a convenient advantage to people. First and foremost, since those electric devices can store hundreds of books, people do not need to carry books with them. Students, for example, especially when preparing for an exam, have to take several books in a bag. Considering the fact that most pupils in their 10s or 20s take public transportation to commute, it is unavoidable that heavy books cause them a great amount of exhaustion. In terms of adults, those who work as office workers can make a presentation easily on a tablet PC, no matter where they are. This will also reduce the time and energy for them to do so, compared to the past when they only could do it on a desktop in a restricted place. To sum up, this phenomenon seems to be a natural change. Not only will students take an advantage of this, but also adults working in an office could make good use of this.