Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is generally thought that popular sports events such as the football World Cup have a vital role in mitigating international conflicts and releasing feelings nationalism in a in a safe way. In this essay, I am going to explain why I firmly agree with this statement. The main reason for believing this is that international sports events can ease several countries' arguments which have been ongoing for a long time. One good illustration of this is the two female athletes ' sportsmanship in the 2020 Olympics. The Japanese and South Korean speed skaters held each other's shoulders and hugged with teared-up eyes just after they cut the finishing tape at almost the same time. The result was so close, but after the record showed up, these two young athletes purely celebrated each other's success and the efforts they made. This scene hit both Japanese and South Korean hearts because since 1940, these two countries could not bridge the gap between them. There was a huge controversial topic about military prostitutes during the war in the 1940s. Because of this, these two often argue in the diplomatic scene. However, this sportsmanship was well beyond the inner conflicts. Therefore, it is possible to say that international sports events and athletes ' sportsmanship can bring nations together in a positive way. A reason I believe international sports events are beneficial is that these can unify people and increase patriotic emotions. It is often can be seen in the football World Cup, with people wearing the same national uniform and singing their national anthem proudly and cheering on their country's representatives as national supporters. Sometimes they give high-fives to each other even though they are not acquaintances. In addition, after the match, different countries' supporters often applaud each other's efforts with pride and patriotic emotions, just the same as athletes do on the pitch. These attitudes are a good example of releasing patriotic emotions safely. In conclusion, I strongly believe that international events such as the Olympic Games or the football World Cup play a vital role in maintaining world peace and recognising nationalism in a positive way.