Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting the usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, an increasing amount of humans with physical well-being complications are experimenting with non-conventional medications and therapies in lieu of paying a visit to their regular physician. This essay agrees that the notion in question is an adverse development and will first discuss unregulations, second emergency situations, followed by an opinionated conclusion. Many alternatives are not strictly regulated. In many countries, unconventional medical practices, treatments and prescriptions are not under scrutiny by regulating bodies as these do not come under the umbrella of drugs. This is why they are not subject to regulation in terms of effectiveness and safety which, makes them free to claim results through their marketing to attract customers as they are not worried about the penalties they might have to suffer if they do not follow certain guidelines. Such medication and therapy can have numerous side effects and can cause damage beyond repair. For example, in 2015, the Doctors Association of Pakistan reported that 60 per cent of individuals who were taking herbal weight loss powder for more than one month now suffer from Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) and it was also found that 70 per cent of therapist's of cupping were not registered practitioners leading to unsafe and unethical activities. In addition, such non-conventional medications cannot help in cases of emergency. There are instances where a patient would need life-saving aid as soon as possible, which these old-age drugs and therapeutic remedies cannot provide. These can be of some cure in the long run just for the sake of an argument but not in the shorter run and this is why they cannot be a replacement for what doctors nowadays can do to save lives especially, in chronic diseases. In cases where individuals who suffer from conditions that require urgent assistance rely on this unsuitable medicament, there are chances that they might miss the small window where either they make it or they break it, which in case they visit a hospital or their regular doctor they can be treated immediately and thus can be given a chance to live. For example, in 2018 a report published by Dawn News 70 per cent of patients suffering from tumours delayed their surgeries in hopes of relying on non-mainstream medicinal and not medicinal cures left for their heavenly abode which had not been the case if they had listened to the doctors. In conclusion, It is a negative cultural shift towards non-mainstream treatment practices and it is best to consult a medical specialist for one's illnesses in order to get timely cured.