In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. Write at least 250 words.

Recent years have witnessed tremendous developments in agricultural science yet everyday populations all over nature continue to suffer and even die from hunger. In my opinion, this is because innovations rarely impact the developing earth and the best explanation for it is to direct humanitarian funding towards these advances. The main cause of more advanced agricultural methods not reaching the family who need them the most is that the developing nature has trouble implementing these methods. There are a number of reasons for this ranging from limited financial resources to poor existing infrastructure to political instability, depending on the country in question. One example of this would be in many African nations, where malnourishment has historically been highest. states like the Congo have seen revolution after revolution over the last several decades, which has effectively destabilised the entire country. The universities where students would learn about changes in agriculture are frequently shut down or destroyed. The young society who would become agricultural scientists end up drawn into the conflict as soldiers or victims. Long-term economic neglect means that the government has very limited ability to subsidise farming. These problems are present to varying degrees in public around the earth and offer one possible explanation for the continued prevalence of hunger. The quick fix that I believe would be most effective is directing humanitarian funds previously focused on food aid towards education and agricultural infrastructure. Food aid is a notoriously poor explanation because it only offers an immediate result and warlords often exploit it to support the continued mistreatment of their folk. It hurts more than it helps. However, there would be better long-term effects if international organisations and governments redirected that money into helping build better farms, providing more modern equipment, and sending qualified professionals to train crowds in need. There is a TedTalk by a young man in Kenya who built his own windmill out of old bicycle parts and by reading a book in the local library. It is large enough to power his own house and he was seeking financing for a larger one that would power irrigation channels for the entire village. If more communities like him can be found or trained then this will have an impact that lasts for decades and is relatively impervious to the factors preventing agricultural advances from taking root in developing land. In conclusion, developing companies face myriad problems that hinder their ability to take advantage of newer agricultural models and we should direct more funding to help these people learn more about new farming methods. This is likely to be an important issue in nature as the gap between rich and poor, developed and undeveloped widens while technological progress continues its indifferent march forward.