Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

There is a notion stating that animal testing, which is advantageous for the development of science and humankind, should be prohibited due to its cruelty to various species. I do not entirely agree with this idea because these experiments are necessary for the pharmaceutical industry. On the one hand, animal experimentation has had an influential role in many medical breakthroughs that save and improve millions of lives, including people and other non-human species. Due to genetic similarities between these creatures to people, testing on animals is considered an essential and accurate method to understand numerous conditions, such as high blood pressure, diabetes and tuberculosis. It is also a safe and effective way to invent and evaluate vaccines, immunisations and antibiotics, which is beneficial for the medical field. Moreover, many scientists and biologists agree that it is pretty challenging to find other adequate alternatives to test on living, whole-body systems and animals are the most suitable options because of their diversity. On the other hand, it is unethical and unnecessary to keep living creatures, such as dogs, cats, monkeys and mice, in cages for scientific purposes. Specifically, many species can display human emotions, such as pain, loneliness and fear. Several laboratories even have intentional actions, like beating, leaving wounds untreated, and underfeeding these non-human species, violating animal welfare legislation. During painful testing processes, animals may be injected with different chemicals, forced to inhale toxic substances and transmitted disease viruses that seriously damage their health. Additionally, animals should not be undervalued for their life or disregarded their suffering just because they do not belong to the same species as humans. Carrying out experiments on animals is a way of taking advantage of them, which is virtuously opposed to the crucial components of a person, for instance, compassion and benevolence. In conclusion, I believe it is wrong to ban animal testing until other successful alternatives have been developed and recognised.