As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

It is true that satisfaction in occupations is an essential factor in a person's well-being. There are several elements that contribute to this and the expectation of work satisfaction is not realistic for all employees for various reasons. The first contributing feature of job satisfaction is personal interest, which plays an indispensable role in indicating the happiness of that worker. For example, it is evidence that employees who love their career because it suits their attention or interest tend to have a passion and energy to work regardless of how difficult the task is. Consequently, working with a passion leads to better performance, which is a standard requirement for employment satisfaction as no one would be happy if he could not perform well. Moreover, it is commonly believed that the workplace environment is also relevant. To illustrate, working with a professional team and friendly colleagues would reduce stress and pressure from the assignment, which is related to job satisfaction. In addition, there are many reasons why the desire for work satisfaction will not be realistic. Firstly, there are too many factors that are out of control. To be more precise, it is not solely related to one single person, but it involves a third person such as how co-workers behave. Secondly, nowadays, money is so important in daily life. As a result, people would consider it before their happiness or satisfaction, regardless of how boring the work is. Lastly, some people wish to stay close to their family rather than worry about their job satisfaction. In conclusion, there are a variety of elements relating to job satisfaction, and it is not realistic, in my perspective, for all employees to achieve job satisfaction.