Prison is the common way most countries try to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide the public a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that teaching the community better to solve the problem of crime is more useful than sentencing criminals does. I totally agree with this opinion. There are a variety of reasons why high proportion of educated citizens can effectively reduce number of crimes. One reason is that educated people know the danger of crime and its consequences as they are taught to residents by many govermental groups. As a results, they will not tend to commit a crime due to the punishments of the authority such as prison sentence. Another important reason is that in areas that have many educated inhabitants, the number of unemployed people is low which lessen the rate of wrongdoings. For example, in big cities such as Tokyo, almost residents have proper jobs lead to the number of criminals each year is lower than the average of the world. Apart from the parctical benefits expressed above, I believe that prison is not a good way to reduce the number of crimes. Firstly, prisoners won't have good conditions in prison, which makes it harder for them to change their attitudes towards the community. For instance, many prisoners in Vietnam still carry out wrongdoings after their sentences due to lack of education in prisons. Furthermore, teaching people when they were young is much more effective as many youths haven't had bad intentions to the public. Consequently, many of them will have great attitudes when they get older, which lessen the number of crimes. In conclusion, I believe that educating the community to solve the problem of crime is much better than prisoning criminals does. It is recommended that the government should fully education its citizens.