Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the modern world, more and more people who have health issues would rather take alternative medicines and treatments than consult with their usual doctor. In my opinion, this should be viewed as a positive situation because this tendency is beneficial to both people with health problems and governments. To commence with the benefit for patients, alternative medicines and treatments can save time so that they can focus on their work or studies. Unlike those who are healthy, people with ailments need frequently to go to a hospital where they are often made to wait in a long queue for their turn. If such alternatives are available, they enable patients to save time. Thus, they can spend time on work or their studies instead of going to a hospital. Another key thing to be considered is that such alternative drugs or treatments can reduce expenditures that governments are supposed to subsidize. Many governments struggle with the growing cost of health care across the globe. If alternative medical choices are much cheaper than seeing a doctor, governments not only can save financial resources but also spend them on other fields such as the educational sector. On the other hand, gaining pieces of advice from experts is vital thing for patients to prevent their health problems from getting worse. Since many doctors have knowledge and experience, they can suggest suitable options for patients. However, in my point of view, this idea cannot be a significant factor to see this situation as a detrimental one because well-explanations are usually attached to medicine as well as treatments are well-organized. To conclude, even though suggestions from doctors are important for patients, I believe that this tendency can be seen as a positive one because patients can save time and governments can save financial resources.