Air pollution in cities is growing at an alarming rate. What measures could be taken to address this problem?

These days the massive problem of air pollution increasing in big cities. The excessive use of own vehicles is the main issue of the rising rate of air pollution and this can be mitigated by promoting public transportation. On the one hand, there are myriad causes of air pollution. Firstly, a major cause of this problem is the overuse of vehicles. To elaborate, more and more people are moving to urban areas for jobs and other basic amenities which increases the crowd of cars on roads and employed individuals prefer to drive their cars for comfort and time reasons. For instance, Dehli become a more polluted area because of over crowd of people due to good job opportunities and the rise in the use of more and more cars which release many harmful chemicals into the air that highly contribute to air pollution in the past decades. Therefore, many major cities face many environmental issues. On the other hand, promoting public transport is one of the best ways to decrease air pollution. To explicate, governments should not only subsidies the price of buses and the metro but also banned personal vehicles for one or two days can decline some percentage of air pollution. For instance, the UK provides an offer on public transportation for long users of buses and trains which helps decrease this issue. Thus, taking small steps can lessen the threat to future generations. In conclusion, air pollution is a major concern in urban areas due to several various reasons such as the excessive amount of vehicles on roads, increasing the use of public transportation can mitigate this problem.