Students generally prefer to choose the period they are supposed to study and the period they are free to have fun. They should be allowed to do their time management. Do you agree or disagree?

As society progresses by the years, it leans towards empowering the youth with the goal of creating strong capable young adults. Teenagers have more control over their lives than what they used to in many aspects, one of which is their education. When it comes to study- time and leisure- time, though, it is agreed that students should not manage their own schedule entirely. This statement can easily be supported by analysing how the maturity level of a teenager affects their priorities, and also how the lack of experience could become an obstacle. To begin with, the majority of students are young people who lack the maturity that is needed to recognize that education should be prioritized against having fun. For example. Children with strict parents have less control over the time that they spend over doing schoolwork compared to the ones with absent parents, and it has been observed that the latter will neglect to do homework more often. This is because most kids will prefer to do entertaining activities instead of something hard and boring. Therefore, allowing them to manage their own study- time without intervention would most likely not benefit their education. Another factor that should be considered is the lack of experience that students have regarding the appropriate study-hours one should spend on different subjects. In exam periods, for instance, the level of difficulty of a subject and a persons capabilities on it define how much time should one spend studying for the exam. In such cases it is very easy for an inexperienced student to miscalculate how long they would need to prepare, and sometimes even sacrifice their leisure time entirely which is unhealthy. This is why guidance from teachers or parents would be extremely helpful. In summary, children and teenagers are not mature or experienced enough, characteristics that are much needed to successfully navigate through student years. This leads to the conclusion that teachers and parents should be, at least partly, able to control how a student’s time is spent. Young people should definitely have a say on how and where they devote their precious time, but their age makes them unqualified to do so alone.