Less and less parents these days are smacking their children. Some people think that this is leading to a generation of misbehaved children. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Nowadays, parents are likely to educate their children by not hitting them physically. This probably leads to an assumption in a society that this method is creating a misbehaved generation. I completely disagree with this statement because there are indeed many ways besides using physical activity to teach children how to be good. There are a number of reasons why parents hit their children in order to make them obey either home or school rules. Furthermore, this kind of education method is happening from generation to generation and becomes a habit. In Indonesia, for example, some parents particularly hit their children if they get bad grades or doing mistakes while in school whereas parents could teach their kids in a good manner as well as give them a good example of how to live in a good society in a community. Moreover, it could lead to mental health issues for children who always receive a physical attack from parents. In order to combat these problems, the first step would be educating the general public about parenting once before they get married. It would perhaps be more effective if the government makes a law about physical abuse, perhaps even enforcing participation by levying a fine against those who still hit their children. Overall, it seems that a change of attitude is needed as well as more education given to new parents and society to achieve a better education method to teach children how to be good and bring a lot of benefits to a community.