Today, people have become accustomed to living in “throwaway” society which means that they use things for a short time and then throw away. What are the causes of this? What problems may this lead to?

Throughout some time, people got used to the disposable use of items. Which apparently can lead to horrendous consequences for humankind. This essay will estimate the possible outcome of the issue, as well as underline what the causes are. Overconsumption nowadays is becoming a current issue. One illustration of this would be the production of low-quality clothes, which on the one side, are affordable. However, it might be used only for one season. Therefore, it requires purchasing the same piece of clothing several times, which is later thrown in a rubbish bin. On top of that, the type of textile usually used in mass-market items is synthetic, which often can not or takes decades to decompose, creating contamination. Moreover, environmental pollution is a key to climate change and global warming. A similar issue appears with plastic packaging. Even though the magnitude of its consumption is destructive, people until now continue purchasing these items widely. For instance, instead of having a glass bottle that can be refilled, people buy new plastic bottles of water every time. All of this leads not only to pollution but also to animal death. For example, in the ocean, fish often consider plastic as food that obviously can not be digested, so eventually, it kills them. Nowadays, wood-based things are in everyday use and are often used with complete disregard for the environment and plants that are being destroyed. Evidence for this can be seen in the consumption of paper, which is often used for unessential things and later thrown away. In the meantime, deforestation is becoming a huge problem. Forests, to species extinction. In conclusion, society should be more aware of the consequences of a "throwaway" lifestyle, as it is an issue that can destroy an entire planet. There are plenty of things every person can do to avoid that. The fundamental would be shortening consumption in general and switching to non-disposable items.