In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true to say that humans have greater longevity these days in almost every nation. Some people argue that senior citizens might be burdens for governments while others think that there are many advantages for communities. In my opinion, the positive developments will be greater than the negative ones. On the one hand, there are many drawbacks to having an ageing population in a country for its government. This is because that situation might cause insufficient accommodation for citizens and burdens for the government in the budget allocation for new buildings. This is leading to a circumstance where the government has to spend money on establishing apartments or installing healthcare centres and, at the same time, less spending on building new schools for children and younger generations. Due to the density of elders, there could be a shortage of medical materials, tools, and supplements, which hinders the government’s priorities in other areas. On the other hand, older individuals positively bring valuable contributions to work and volunteering opportunities for youngsters who are obtaining experiences after their studies. Since the need for caring services for ageing people offers vacancies for employees and volunteers, it might be a winning situation for both generations to fulfil their needs for each other. Additionally, young people have potential opportunities to learn invaluable cultures and traditional manners of seniors which can be carried forward to upcoming generations. Moreover, the majority of ageing people have desires to travel in their retirement, which promotes travel and tour industry revenue streaming indirectly. In a nutshell, I believe that having an ageing population innovates many factors that create positive developments, such as opportunities for jobs and the travel industry, rather than creating obstacles for governments.