Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Nowadays, many people around a world still could not read and write. This becomes their government ’s headache. There seem to be three main causes and one main effects, which we will discuss here Possibly the main cause is poor economic development which a long-term impact for some nation’s literacy rate, especially in the developing countries. They do not have enough money to spend it. For example, even though it’s well-known fact that government would provide their citizens for primary education; however, their tight budget cannot work efficiently. Another cause is numerous high ranked employees who work at government got involved a corruption. They could be utilizing their government money into their own good. Therefore, it may result of decrease or stop new school building projects as well as new teacher hiring process. It may not possible that without having enough education sector’s employees those countries could not beat a high rate of illiteracy. Third cause is probably constant increase of human population. It is causing many problems. One of them is growth of illiteracy rate. For instance, world population has been increased rapidly, and it recently hit eight billion marks. At the same time, however, the literate rate could not catch in this significant growth. This problem could be seriously effect on people who live in those developing countries. Majority effect of being non educated is lack of income. One possible case, if the people could not properly read and write, it might be difficult to them to find a job. Another case, although they have a job, it is tough to get promoted a better job position. Therefore, at least if they can read, they would get hired. Without adequate income people could not live a quality life and may still live poor. Overall, poor economy, government corruption, and human population seem to be the main causes. As a result, poverty level still high in globally.