Some people think that developments involving the internet have brought people closer together while others think that people and communities have become more isolated. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that improvements in technology such as the internet made it possible for humans to stay in touch while others think that such inventions contributed to social isolation. Although physical contact between people became unnecessary in many situations, because of the internet, I believe that the digital revolution made our communication much more straightforward by providing many alternatives. On the one hand, there is no doubt that there is a strong bond between digitalization and social deprivation. This is to say that all different gadgets that we use nowadays, such as laptops, smartphones, tablets, etc., are connected to the internet, therefore, everything that we need in our daily routine could be provided by them. In other words, we do not need to interact with other people to execute our everyday tasks. For example, a well-known social activity is shopping, however, the online version of it changed the game completely, as many people are choosing to stay at home which leads to their isolation. Conversely, I believe that it is not the internet that transforms humans into outsiders, but their own choice to do so. On the other hand, computers and social media applications, in particular, created the possibility that people from all over the world to become one big family. By offering so many varieties of communications, the internet has contributed a lot to the such a straightforward and user-friendly environment since its development back in the eighties of the last century. Moreover, if we had asked our grandparents how they would have felt if they could have called their children who were living on the other side of the world, every day for free, they would have agreed that this would keep them closer together. For instance, the only way of staying in close contact with your loved ones during the COVID-19 pandemic was the internet, as we were all following strict quarantine rules, therefore, in my opinion, all different developments in technology can only give us a chance to be close to each other in such difficult times. In conclusion, even though many people think that the internet disconnects us from society, I believe that it could be only beneficial in terms of holding people together and giving them an opportunity to stay close whenever possible.