More and more people are taking online courses instead of attending face to face classes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of taking an online course. Give reasons for your answer and include any relavent examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Due to the development of science and technology the public are able to gain a sustainable education even in difficult times. Whilst there are considerable advantages of online learning in terms of convenience and uninterrupted process of education during a pandemic, there are significant drawbacks too. This essay discusses both viewpoints. It is certainly true that online learning has major benefits. First, during a global pandemic such as COVID- 19 the education systems of most western countries were uninterrupted. Due to the online teaching-learning mechanism, the higher education system conducted lectures successfully. Consequently, a sustainable learning was held. Secondly, some students feel convenient with online learning. For example, remote and distance learning facilities in Sri Lanka are helping thousands of underprivileged students in rural villages to participate in classes at well-known popular schools. Therefore, it saves time and shares human resources. However, there are significant disadvantages to online lectures. First, the holistic well-being of a child would not be achieved during online learning. For example, face-to-face education procedure at school promotes a child's cognitive, affective and psychomotor domains' development which would in turn cause the overall development of the student's personality. As a result, a well-rounded student cannot be created through the cyber education process. Another point is that online learning is not successful for practical subjects such as medicine and swimming. For example, if a medicine undergraduate is not getting clinical experience he would not become a successful professional. In conclusion, there are considerable advantages as well as drawbacks of online education as I discussed above. The success of a lesson from the computer depends on the subject and its' practical and theoretical nature. I personally recommend face-to-face learning for early childhood and primary school children.