Directors and managers of organisations are often older people. Some people say that it is better for younger people to be leaders. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern working world, corporate work is very popular among workers. Some might say that younger staff should be promoted to bigger positions, such as directors or managers, rather than older people. I personally strongly disagree with this statement, and this essay will describe my personal reasons to support my opinion. Firstly, there are various factors that make someone a leader, but the significant reason is work experience. The most senior staff have intense experience in their work field. For instance, doctors are a career that clearly depicts the hierarchy of work profession levels. When doctors are freshly graduated, they are just general physicians. They need to follow residents, who studied specialised fields. Nevertheless, residents must follow fellows, who have genuinely in-depth knowledge more than them. Most of this hierarchy depends on years of studying; thus, junior medical staff have insufficient knowledge compared to residents or fellows. Moreover, something more important than work knowledge is decision-making skills. Some junior workers are inadequate in this type of skill due to their work experience, their immaturity, and their personal perspective as well. Some seniors are good at decision-making because of their age and past experiences. Nevertheless, I believe that age is not the main reason to promote someone as a leader. There are many young people who are talented in both hard and soft skills. The results of work are the most important factor in promoting someone to be a leader. Moreover, perspective and personal traits are always counted in this factor. To sum up, I disagree with people who say younger people are better to be promoted to directors or managers than older workers. In my point of view, they should promote people based on the quality of their work, their hard and soft skills, and their personal traits and perspectives on work.