Nowadays young people know less about traditions and culture than in the past. What are the reasons for it? Is this a positive development or a negative development?

In recent years, many young generations have had little knowledge about their traditional and cultural things compared with those in the previous era. This is because youth people have no classes for learning these kinds of things, and their parents barely hold cultural and traditional events. In my opinion, it should be viewed as a negative development because people may lose their identity. One of the primary reasons for this tendency is that youngsters do not have an opportunity to learn about traditions and culture at school due to the alteration of the academic curriculum. A growing number of school has come to focus more on science subjects than history, and many academic facilities have replaced history with science subjects. As a result, students lose a chance to learn about traditions and culture along with the past. To illustrate, in Japan, many schools put more science subjects such as mathematics and chemistry into the educational scheme by removing history. Therefore, students know little about their own traditions and culture. Not only schools but also young's parents also cause this situation. This is because parents usually have a hectic work schedule compared with workers in the past, and they are unable to hold cultural events at home due to the lack of time. For instance, across the world, more and more families tend to avoid traditional parties because parents cannot spend time preparing meals for the party becausorganizinghortage of time. Unfortunately, the lack of knowledge about traditional and cultural things may lead to a loss of identity. Knowing these kinds of fields enables citizens to unite each other as they are specific to each nation. If young communities have no idea about traditions and culture, it is impossible for young people to have their identity and foster patriotism. Thus, they may be reluctant to fight in case they need to protect their country. To conclude, many young generations have because history disappeared from the school curriculum, and parents cannot organize cultural events due to the hard work schedule. It can be argued that this phenomenon is a negative development since young people lose their identity.