In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Nowadays, we can often hear parents tell children to try hard to accomplish anything they want. This essay will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of the mentioned action. There are several benefits of telling youth such kind of a message when they themselves want to do that action, parents could motivate them not to stop and go forward. For example, if a teenager wants to apply abroad for a bachelor's degree, and his mother inspires him to work more on it even though there are failures, the teenager feels that he has someone who stimulates and understands him. In addition, there is a quote of Albert Einstein that says “Genius is 1% talent and 99% hard work, which confirms if anyone makes an effort, he can do anything he wishes. On the other hand, there are numerous disadvantages to this case. To put it more simply, there are some instances where the father wanted to become a lawyer and by any conditions could not, he says to his son every time to work day and night to become a lawyer, not asking if he has a fancy for it. Further, it may lead to juvenile delinquency and cause more problems than not doing as his father says. What is more, if a person does what he is not desperate for, it may affect his mental health and he may lose a reason for living. In conclusion, motivating teenagers can be advantageous, if it allows them to fulfil their dreams. However, parents should also be careful that it does not lead to disillusionment with the aim altogether.