Modern technology has made it possible for people to view exhibitions at home, so museums and art galleries will disappear soon. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With modern technology finding its way into our lives, today people can easily take virtual tours to see artwork all over the world through the internet. Thus, some people believe that it is no longer needed to keep places such as museums and art galleries. However, this statement suffers from some logical and factual issues, and I hardly agree with this. To begin with, it is undeniable that the existence of cultural and historical sites has a positive impact on cultural influence. In general, a museum or an art gallery displays the culture, history or art with a common core theme. For instance, the oriental metropolitan museum in Nanjing, China, is the only place with a vast collection of artefacts and relics from the Six Dynasties period in Chinese history. Visiting these kinds of places offers people a good opportunity to directly visualize and feel the artwork being displayed, and in that way, people are more likely to appreciate their beauty and value of them. Therefore, preserving those places of art has paramount importance in terms of cultural influence. Next, there is no doubt that the feeling of seeing real items can never be replicated by visualizing them virtually. Taking artefacts like sculptures as examples, one can view them through different angles to capture all features and details, while pictures normally only provide some brief overviews from a limited number of angles. In general, it is hard to appreciate the aesthetics of a piece of artwork comprehensively by only looking at a few of its photos. Hence, it is absolutely necessary to have places to present the existing novel artwork. To conclude, the greatness and aesthetics of every piece of artwork have to be treasured. With the existence of places such as museums and art galleries, artwork can be well-preserved and this is definitely beneficial to the human community.