Many people believe that social networking sites such as Facebook have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

I wouldn't say that I totally that I concur with this statement but mainly so as there are many negative aspects to most online communities. So, I would say that I partly agree that social media websites have a huge negative impact on people and humankind. Firstly, let's consider some positive points as I believe that with careful parental guidance to avoid risks, children can learn how to communicate, appreciate different perspectives and develop the digital literacy that will be needed for adulthood. It can be a great way for a child who lacks the confidence to connect with others because he or she has a disability, to remove these barriers, so they can share their ideas and interests with like-minded kids. Social networking can be an amazing tool for cheering a person up after a bad day at school or work. Additionally, joining LinkedIn and adding your C.V. to your profile is a great way to network and find your ideal job quickly. It should also be considered that there are many other positives that can't all be fitted into a short essay. Next, in concurrence, I believe that there are many negative consequences to Facebook and other websites like it. In fact, they can be very dangerous and for some people, totally addictive. Social media lets you see the hand-picked best parts of someone else's life. For example, this can lead to severe depression because you start comparing it with your own life, which always seems lacking. Then, there is online bullying which makes it possible for brutal people to attack others with little effort. This severe cruelty can leave huge mental scars. An extreme example is when a person commits suicide. For me, it is this particular point on its own that would topple the scales to the negative side. In conclusion, I have to admit that although there are many positive aspects to social media, it is the negative ones that worry me the most, leading me to mainly agree that social networking can have some tremendously destructive effects on individuals, families, and societies