Some people think that the government should subsidise fruit and vegetables to make healthy food more affordable. Others argue that the government should tax unhealthy food instead. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Urban lifestyle leads to nutrition problems like consuming fast foods and processed foods. Poor diet and its consequences are common health problems in our society. Many people think that the government should subsidise healthy products to promote healthy eating habits, while some people argue that the administration should tax unhealthy foods. I will discuss both views in this essay and will provide my opinion. To begin with, most fruits and vegetables are really expensive and the government should subsidise them in order to make them affordable for all classes of people. For instance, avocado and Broccoli are considered complete food in terms of nutrition; however, their prices are unusually high and keep them out of the reach of lower-income groups. In addition, it will boost the local economy of the area as small farmers do not have the facilities and transportation to go to far big cities; therefore, they sell their produce in local markets. On the other hand, I agree that the tax option can help to reduce the consumption of harmful foods. Despite that, the government should not impose a tax on junk foods because it will adversely affect people from lower-income groups. In other words, people with money can still enjoy it on their will, whereas consumers with financial problems will find it extremely hard to enjoy fast food even occasionally. Moreover, such a tax would not work. For example, we have seen a tax increase on luxury items like branded clothes in many countries and this has had little effect on their use. To conclude, I would concede that taxing unhealthy foods can discourage people from consuming them. However, subsidizing healthy foods like fruits and vegetables is a good step to promote healthy eating among people. In my opinion, a subsidy should be provided for healthy foods and there should not be any tax on unhealthy food items and then it will be the choice of the individual what food they want to eat.