In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

It is debated whether a school vacation from June to August in some countries has more value or a shorter one has more arguments in its favour. I think the impact of longer holidays is more meaningful, due to the young people's feelings, compared to money and work-related issues. A summer break for two or more months is beneficial for children. Such a holiday gives them a possibility to enjoy more time spent with their family, relatives, and friends, thus building more social skills. As a result, pupils are better rested for the next program year, are less demotivated to attend it, and build strong connections in society. For example, some European countries have seen a strong connection between overall children's health and emotions and vacation time, which I believe is one of the most important things. On the other hand, shorter leaves give parents the possibility of having fewer difficulties with their employer. Most companies have little understanding of when an employee would ask for a 2-3 months break, related to their child's summer holidays. As a result, most of the parents are forced to hire a helper, which could be quite expensive, and not all families can afford it. For example, in Moldova, it is quite challenging for mothers and fathers to take care of their boys and girls during that time, because most of them do not have the money to pay for a babysitter. In conclusion, even though short holidays help adults to overcome the struggles with their job and paying a nanny, I argue that longer ones have stronger benefits for the child's health.