Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about whether individuals should engage in solving environmental issues or not. In fact, large businesses and public sectors have more power to resolve those difficulties due to their rich financial resources. Hence, in this essay, I will discuss these distinct viewpoints and explain why I strongly believe that each person can also improve these issues as well. To begin with, it is obvious that there are several ways for ordinary citizens to tackle various environmental problems, such as global warming, diversity loss and air pollution. For instance, in Japanese rural areas, there have been some eco-friendly campaigns which aim to reduce the usage of plastic containers. Specifically, some people gathered on the main street of each city and demonstrated negative impacts on the environment, which are mainly brought by the overconsumption of plastic containers. In reality, these activities significantly contributed to the reduction in the amount of plastic waste in those cities, leading to the improvement of the water quality of rivers. This case reveals that ordinary people can also solve environmental issues in some ways. On the other hand, as some people argue, the achievements by large companies and governments are more notable due to higher numerical factors. For example, the decreases in carbon emissions by manufacturing industries are more remarkable than those by individuals. Certainly, their contributions are essential for society, and, without their economic richness, environmental problems would be exacerbated. However, those large and powerful players tend to gather in urban areas, and even governmental policies are more likely to focus on the improvement of environmental issues in urban areas. In other words, if citizens who live in regional areas do not try to resolve these problems, environmental problems will remain unchanged, leading to more serious situations from a wider perspective. Therefore, society should rely not only on one side but also on the other because if we lack one of them, we will not be able to improve the environment in terms of the whole country. In other words, these two types of contributions are interconnected, so the roles of individuals are also important to the entire society. In conclusion, although large private players and governments play important roles in reducing environmental burdens, without individual contributions, we will not be able to solve environmental issues on wider scales. For this reason, I completely disagree with the opinion that only large players should tackle these problems.