Some people think that to reduce traffic and pollution, the government should increase the tax on petrol (gasoline). Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to growing environmental awareness, more and more people are pressuring their governments to impose extra charges on gasoline. While many people see this as a bad development, the argument for applying taxes on Petrol is one I am in favour of, but it depends on which type of vehicle is being charged.I will be discussing both arguments and emphasize my point of view later. One reason taxing petrol may be viewed as a negative act is raising essential goods’ prices. This is because most businesses use transportation on daily basis. In other words, suppliers transport goods to groceries, farmers transport freshly harvested coffee to coffee shops and drug dealers transport medicine to pharmacies. For instance, when the Egyptian government lifted subsidies for gasoline in 2019 the prices of essential goods such as eggs and vegetables skyrocketed there. I believe governments should tax only personal vehicles to solve this problem. Nevertheless, I am a vehement supporter of applying a green tax on unsustainable sources of power such as gasoline because it has significant advantages. At first, it will encourage citizens to use public transit.The reason for this is it will probably save them money. For example, the price of petrol in the European subcontinent outweighs any other place. Therefore, the percentage of daily public transit usage there is significant. As a consequence of enforcing such regulations, improvements in air and sound quality may occur and in the long run, it is very good for climate change. To summarize, although these regulations may have certain drawbacks such as raising the goods' prices, I believe that these problems could be worked on and green tax should be enforced anyways as it causes significant improvements in breathable air and it eliminates sound pollution.