In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In this day and age, there are many parents who place pressure on their children. Therefore, some of them usually instil in their children that if they try hard enough, they will be able to achieve any goals they want. To begin with, there are several benefits of telling the youth to work hard to accomplish their tasks. Firstly, children need motivation from their families to keep up with their goals. For instance, several research findings have revealed that positive reinforcement like saying positive phrases is more effective to cheer children up than using negative words. Secondly, this statement is a good way to teach juveniles to put up with difficult tasks in life. Take spoiled children, for example; these youths never be told to try hard on anything, making them less likely to have patience. On the other hand, this statement can be exaggerated, bringing many detrimental effects to juveniles. The main reason is that this is an indirect way to place pressure on children by telling them that they have to accomplish every goal in their lives, leading to children having too much stress, which directly affects their mental health in the long run. For example, there were many high school students who committed suicide when they could not pass admission exams for tertiary study. Furthermore, another reason is that they will not be able to accept when they lose their competition. Consequently, these youngsters will blame others for their loss and this might affect their relationships with others. In conclusion, although telling children that they can achieve any goals by putting in huge effort can cheer them up to be successful and teach them to be patient, there are many drawbacks, especially in terms of worsening their mental health.