Being a celebrity - such as a famous film star or sports personality - brings problems as well as benefits. Do you think being a celebrity brings more benefit or more problems?

In the era of technology, everybody wants to be a celebrity. While some people think it has more advantages than disadvantages, some people think the opposite. This essay will look into why I think being a celebrity is more of a bane than a boon and will examine both the advantages and the disadvantages of being a celebrity. On one hand, celebrities who are at the top of their category are usually exposed to alcohol and drugs, which are harmful to one's physical and mental well-being. For instance, Juice WRLD was a famous celebrity who died of a drug overdose in 2019. Furthermore, celebrities often have to mask their thoughts because a disagreement with the majority of people on a particular topic can create a massive backlash and can decelerate their career which can lead to anxiety and depression. Celebrities often have little to no privacy as they are constantly being followed by the paparazzi, this is a serious breach of privacy and can impact someone's personal life. Moreover, being a celebrity makes you more vulnerable towards criminal activities including cyber attacks. On the other hand, being a celebrity gets you favoured at a lot of places in the world, almost all celebrities get free access to stuff and do not have to pay for things. Furthermore, celebrities earn really well compared to an average person and have an advantage financially. People start being aware of important issues happening in their country because of celebrities who have very high influence. Fame can also be used as a networking tool to meet new people and have a broader network of more influential people. To conclude, while the advantages of being a celebrity are very tempting to a normal person, I believe that it is not worth all the money and fame and hence, think that being a celebrity is more of a bane than a boon.