Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families, but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is becoming highly popular, in our modern society, to place elderly parents in specialized care centres, rather than taking care of them at home. While the benefits of this choice are numerous, such as offering them better healthcare, nutrition and trained professionals, there are significant drawbacks to such a move. On the one hand, care homes have been established with the purpose of looking after elder people, thus their services are fairly ample. To begin with, they usually offer specialized medical care for seniors with certain diseases. Furthermore, the nurses and professionals working in such establishments are well-prepared and trained to offer immediate assistance. Additionally, several centres offer nutritionists and physiotherapists that may provide customized meal and training plans, recommendable for seniors. For instance, recent research has proven that people over a certain age might uplift their lifespan if they're constantly supervised by specialists in nursing homes. On the other hand, it is undeniable that, for certain people, being taken away from their homes and families might be significantly detrimental to their health. As people get older, their affection for their loved ones and for their dwelling increases remarkably. Besides this, they would not have the chance to interact and grow their grandsons, despite their health conditions. For example, a recent article has demonstrated that youngsters need their grandparents to develop family values and respect toward elder people. To sum up, there are pros and cons to both sides, though looking after a family member at home should be taken into consideration, rather than placing them in care homes.