In most countries fast food is becoming cheaper and more available. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The consumption of convenience food has become increasingly common and highly affordable in many societies. As much as these foods are quick to get, I believe there are more and long-lasting detrimental effects. Considering how busy life has become in many countries, many are happy that they do not have to bother about whipping up breakfast or going through the stress of making a packed lunch for work, as they can easily drive through a restaurant and pick up fast food. In other words, fast meals are really convenient and fit into most people's schedule. Home-made meals require a lot of time for shopping and planning. While those who eat healthy homemade meals have to wake up hours earlier to prepare food, those who enjoy ready-made packs do not have any need to. Hence, cafeterias and restaurants which make these meals are currently thriving. However, there are more negative consequences of the easy affordability and availability of junk. Firstly, many, irrespective of their economic status are able to consume more junk meals because they are quite cheap resulting in increasing rates of obesity and its related illnesses such as hypertension and heart failure. If unhealthy and processed packs were expensive, then fewer people will consume them, which would result in a much healthier society. Additionally, resorting to frequent fast food consumption results in the development of unhealthy habits. According to recent research, consumers who patronize quick-meal vendors are more likely to be lazy in many aspects of life. In conclusion, despite the joy people derive from having meals as soon as they want them, the disadvantages definitely outweigh this joy.