Nowadays a lot of young people use social media. do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

At present, the use of the internet has increased due to the presence of many social sites i.e., Facebook, Instagram etc. As a result, more number of the young generation like to spend their time on these applications rather than connect in person. In this essay, I will explore the pros and cons of the use of social publishing and try to draw some conclusions. I will start by looking at the advantages of using social platforms. One of the major plus points is generations have built a strong web of connections across the world since, through these mediums they can connect with many people across the world. This will help them to enhance their understanding or knowledge about different cultures and their education systems. Secondly, nowadays these platforms play a crucial role in serving news on the platter faster than any news channel. Hence, by this medium younger generation get news about what's happening across the world as they find watching news channels and reading newspapers less interesting. On the other hand, more involvement of the new generation in social media distracts them from their studies and extracurricular activities such as playing outdoor games and participating in other fun activities like dancing, theatre etc. Adding to that, they find social media very tempting because of that they don't even realise how much they spent on their phones which causes serious health issues as well. So, another major disadvantage is health issues like problems in eyesight, and wrong body postures these things make them lethargic as well as cranky and they could not able to focus more on their academics and also disconnect from their loved ones as they do not like spending time with their grandparents and loved ones. To conclude, there are both positive and negative aspects to the adoption of social media. In spite of the fact that it may help to make strong connections and keep them updated with the latest news, we cannot ignore the fact excess usage of these platforms causes serious health issues and affect academic performance. Additionally, these platform does not teach family values which they learn from their grandparents and loved ones. Surely, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.