Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstance of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In modern society, how to convict a criminal has been under the spotlight for a while, with an ongoing debate over whether lawbreakers should be sentenced to a fixed punishment or in a flexible manner. In my opinion, environs always benefit greater from flexible punishment than from fixed ones. It is perhaps true in some conditions that handing criminals a fixed sentence could be a better approach. One possible reason lies in that being consistent with the fixed sentence in every case would serve as a deterrent to potential offenders, since it conveys a message that whoever breaks the law must be imposed a specific penalty with no fluke. However, if the penal decision primarily relays on judges or other public officials, offenders would have the propensity to pool all their resources, whether a fabricated criminal reason or their wealth and social status, to plead themselves innocent. Eventually, the fixed sentence would perpetuate the crime-ridden condition in our nation. Therefore, taking the circumstance of a crime and the criminals’ purpose into account can reflect the fairness and humanity of the law. To be precise, morality and humanity would be neglected, if deciding the punishment for the victims who just counterattack the perpetrators or kill them in self-defence in the cases of domestic violence and school bullying the same as that for serial killers. What is worse is the fact that people may be disappointed in the judicial system, even the whole of society.  In conclusion, it is too hasty a statement that persisting in fixed punishment would contribute to a crime-free society. Judges are supposed to take all the factors involving circumstance and motivation into account in the effort to punish criminals and maintain justice at the same time