Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, a school of thought holds that animal testing, which has gained more popularity in developing and testing new drug safety, should be banned due to a lack of morals. While others believe that it is acceptable as its benefits mankind. In this answer, I will look at the logic behind both views, and then present why I am more inclined towards the latter. On the one hand, those in favour of the view that animal experiments should be banned have their own reasoning. Initially, the lives of animals should be respected and humans have no moral right to test them. It is estimated that there are more than 150000 animals worldwide used in laboratory experiments every year, however, this number was decreased before publishing to the public. But who has not heard about the Thalidomide case? In the 1900s, this was a detrimental disaster for mankind, by selling the drug which was used for vomiting during pregnancy, without testing its safety. As a result, many children were born with seal-like limbs. On the other hand, it is also understandable why others argue that testing drugs on animals brings many advantages to humanity. Many important medical discoveries involved an experiment on animals. Take the Covid-19 vaccine as an example. In 2020, after the pandemic after testing on mice, and rats, scientists eventually create and successfully develop vaccines which save many patients from death. Furthermore, experiments on animals mostly focus on guinea pigs whose life span is very short, only 3-4 years, so researchers can test the effect of drugs over many generations. In conclusion, both views have their own rationales. However, on balance, I side with the view of experiments on animals are acceptable because it is necessary to test on animals before using it on humans. Human needs must always come first.