The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that the development of individuals’ life quality is the most crucial goal of science. While I agree with this subject, I assume that I can deny some aspects of this notion. To begin with, I believe science has been helpful in terms of increasing the quality of living significantly. Several scientific projects have been made to make life easier. Firstly, scientists and experts have invented several new devices in various categories. In this way, not only people do not need to work as much as they did before and it is labour-saving, but also lots of these gadgets are a time savers. The salient example is the internet and smartphones. With these technologies, people can do several tasks at home without needing to go out such as online reservations, online shopping and remote meetings. Secondly, new technologies such as electronic cars can save our nature as well as our health. Recently, many companies decided to produce this kind of car that uses less amount of non-renewable source of energy. In this way, the deleterious impacts of fuels can be reduced to a great extent. Consequently, people will live in a better environment and their mental and physical well-being will enhance remarkably. On the negative side, although science brings out a better life, it is sometimes detrimental. Initially, people do less physical activities and they are hugely dependent on new inventions to do their jobs. Hence, after a while, society will go to be lazier and boredom will go up noticeably. With the aim of science, robots have been created and they can play a role instead of humans. At first point, they are helpful but they can reduce the job opportunities and spaces and finally pose the human position in the verge of risk. Now different studies show that they have made more individuals unemployed and more than 50% of them have had mental diseases such as depression. Therefore, this area of science development is by no means negligible. In conclusion, although I agree that science ’s goal is the betterment of our population’s lives, detrimental issues have to be considered.