Technology is being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an increasing use of technology in the education. Whereas there are those who think this is beneficial, others are of the opinion that it will have a negative outcome. Although using technology to educate can lead to students being distracted, I believe that it positively enhances learning due to the access to knowledge it provides. Technology, such as the internet and smart phones, has damaging consequences for students as it diverts attention away from the object of study. Instead of concentrating on the topic of the day, students spend a lot of time on social media, resulting in ineffective learning. The human brain can be easily stimulated by computer and phones screens, meaning that students focus less on books and teachers. For instance, a survey conducted by the University of Brasilia found that around 92% of students use social media to procrastinate while studying for exams. Despite the potential for distraction, I think that students benefit significantly from technology due to access to the internet. The use of technology in schools and universities is a positive phenomenon because the internet provides an abundance of information for students to study. Whereas in the past students were limited to only the information they could find in a particular library, now they can quickly and easily find information about any topic from any part of the world via the internet. As all human knowledge is stored on the internet, students have infinite resources to study. For instance, a recent study conducted by Lancaster University found that the grades of 65% of their students have improved since they linked their resources with thousands of digital libraries from universities across the globe. Therefore, this essay argues technology in educational settings has huge benefits for students and wider society. In conclusion, there are valid argument on both sides such as will distract the student on how they focus on the object of study. I personally believe that technology has positive outcome like provides a plentiful of knowledge that can be used for student to study.