Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Thanks to globalization. Learning a foreign language is turned into a controversial issue. Some people think that it is owing to travel or work abroad while others believe that there are other reasons. On the one hand, there are some profits for learning a foreign language. According to some points of view, working or travelling abroad are two main reasons for this. In other words, when people go abroad for various purposes, they need to communicate with others, which required them to learn that country's language. For example, when a Chinese company wants to export products to a country where its main language is English, it has to write the contract or speak in English. Another example is somebody who works to tour leaders abroad and needs to improve his language skills like English. On the other hand, others and I opine that not only learning a foreign language is necessary for working or travelling abroad, but also it has a crucial role in any field such as success in education or work within the home country. In other words, nowadays, because of globalization phenomena, some languages like English are being become the common language around the world. Even if people live in their own country forever, they need to learn a foreign language. For example, a scientist whose job is solving genetics problems and whose mother language is not English should use updated articles that all of them are written in English. Also, a college student must read or write a huge number of articles during academic years that are published in English. To sum up, in my opinion there are other factors to learning a foreign language. Success in working and education within the home country are two main reasons.