There are millions of counterfeit products bought and sold each year worldwide, including fake brand name shoes, electronics and cosmetics. What are the reasons for this, and what are the solutions? Use explanations and examples to support your opinion.

In the present world, social class has become a significant aspect for some people in the community. Using branded things like clothes, shoes, or cosmetics is expected to become a key tool to achieve a higher social class. This analysis will give an explanation of the reasons behind the mass counterfeit products in the market and the solutions to solve the problems. Almost all of the countries in the world are implementing the open market policy. Under the open market policy, each country can import and export products from other countries. Unfortunately, this policy also increases the possibility of counterfeit products entering in domestic market. For instance, lately, China's products can be found in the domestic market which replaces domestic products. As a result, domestic producers can not catch up with prices and experience a loss. Additionally, the massive import of cheap products from China hampers the local economy. Therefore, restriction policies are needed to be implemented by the government. These policies are needed to eliminate the circulation of fake goods in the market and protect the local producers. Furthermore, the increasing consumerism behaviour in the community is playing an important role in this phenomenon. People tend to consume more goods. Not only that, the preference for branded goods is increasing. Since the price of branded goods is very expensive for most people, they prefer to buy a fake good to improve their social class. This behaviour is affecting the local economy because people choose to buy imported and fake goods rather than local brands. Moreover, to address this problem, the government can collaborate with local organisations to have social campaigns and programs that focus on reducing consumerism behaviour in the community. In summary, the open market policy and consumerism behaviour are the most impactful reasons for the mass circulation of fake goods in the domestic market. To address these problems, the government needs to implement a set of restriction policies. In addition, a massive social campaign should be done to change the consumer behaviour in the community.