Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Employment has always been crucial to our daily lives. In recent years, self-employment has gained popularity globally. Unlike the traditional work world, self-employment offers greater freedom than working for a company. This essay discusses why self-employed has become a more popular choice from the perspective of work efficiency and flexibility, and I will also share some of the drawbacks of being self-employed. Self-employment has gained popularity because it offers a more flexible work schedule and it is more productive. Currently, those who are employees of companies do not have the best flexibility as there are a set of rules in their offices. For example, if staff are late for work, some of their salary or perks will likely be deducted from their next paychecks. As for work efficiency, if you work for a corporation, there seem to be endless tasks and meetings waiting for you, which can be time-consuming. Therefore, your productivity drops. However, if you are your boss, as long as you are highly disciplined, you can get the job done quickly and enjoy the rest of the day. In my opinion, self-employment is not more beneficial than traditional employment mainly because it involves a high level of self-discipline and total responsibility. When working for yourself, sometimes long hours and hard work are required to make profits. If businesses fail to make profits, it is harder to keep running them. When working for a firm, team collaboration usually involves making progress instead of taking full responsibility for your business. Plus, working alone can be stressful from time to time. What is more, benefits such as insurance, pension, sick pay and holiday pay are included in contracts in a firm. These perks can add up as huge burdens to individuals. In conclusion, self-employment may be attractive because of its flexibility and high efficiency. However, it is also important to know that traditional workplaces offer better stabilities to less ambitious groups.