More and more people are leaving the countryside and moving to cities. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is common to see a majority of people moving from rural areas toward urban areas. While relocating to cities has a number of drawbacks, I feel its benefits are more significant. To begin with, On the negative side, since many individuals are moving to city centres, over-populating has become an issue in modern-day cities which leads the society to the lack of citizenship facilities such as Educational, medical and residential facilities. Moreover, since productivity from the farm is limited to labourers, their moving to metropolitan faces society with the reduction of food resources. To illustrate this, a recent report in a Newspaper in 2022 stated that the amount of food harvested in a certain local area drastically reduced due to the limited number of people who are available to perform farming activities. On the positive side, residing in the city centres brings various job opportunities for individuals so they can work and earn a better living for themselves and other family members. Therefore, the increase in life satisfaction can be seen among workers’ families. In addition, living in urban areas results in a brighter future for the young generation due to better educational facilities and strengthening their future goals based on available social amenities. For example, while youth who find higher education accessible is likely to move forward to achieve a better positions in future, rural adolescents rarely think about university degrees and high career grades. Overall, an increase in the population migrating from villages to cities can be seen which has some drawbacks, whereas its benefits outweigh its disadvantages.